Usage / Billing Tab

The Usage / Billing tab contains information and controls that are useful to the account holder or whoever pays the bills. The subtabs of the Usage / Billing display invoices, account activity, and resource usage information, as well as allow you to change your plan and update billing information.

Your Plan Tab

The Your Plan subtab displays your current plan and its monthly cost. It also allows you to switch plans by upgrading to a higher available plan or downgrading to a lower available plan. Plans are listed in order of cost.

You may change your plan at any time, and changes will be applied retroactively to the beginning of the current billing cycle. For example, if you were on a Vae Medium $29.95 plan when the billing cycle started and upgrade to a Vae Large $99.95 plan, you will be immediately invoiced for the $70 difference in the cost of the plans. When the billing cycle is over, overage charges for the entire billing cycle will be computed based on the new plan cost. If you notice the day before your billing cycle ends that you will be facing overage charges, you can upgrade right then and avoid the overage charges by switching to a larger plan.

Tip

To cancel your account, please send an E-Mail to [email protected] or call (800) ATN-VERB, extension 2.

For information about the available plans on Vae, please check out our pricing page.

We are confident that Vae is the best service of its kind and want you to feel comfortable upgrading to a paying plan, so we have a liberal refund policy. Anyone may cancel their service and get a refund for any reason at any time. There are no lock-in contracts. If you cancel and request a refund, we will refund your payment for the most recent month of service. No questions asked. One refund per person, please.

Switching to a Different Plan

To switch to a different plan, click the link that says Upgrade to Vae XXX or Downgrade to Vae XXX on the right side of the plan that you wish to switch to. This will bring you to a confirmation page with important information regarding the accounting implications of the plan change you are about to make.

Because we apply changes retroactively, we generally create a one-time invoice to cover the difference in cost between your current plan and the new plan for your current service period. This will be settled to your credit card at your next billing date. If you are upgrading, this means that your next payment will be higher than usual because it will include two months worth of the upgrade cost (this month and next month). If you are downgrading, your next payment will be lower than usual because your account will have a positive balance from when you downgraded.

To complete the plan change, click the Confirm Plan Change button. The change takes effect immediately.

Usage Tab

The Usage subtab displays the amount of resources you are using on your account. Currently, we only track and charge for six resources: data transfer (bandwidth), diskspace, newsletter sends, store transactions, users, and video encodes. Each plan includes different levels of each resource. For information about the available plans on Vae, as well as our overage pricing rates, please check out our pricing page.

The usage table shows 4 columns: Currently Used, Projected, Included, and Proj. Overage.

Currently Used is the amount of that resource you are currently using.

Projected is the amount of that resource that we expect that you will use by the end of the month. Data Transfer, Newsletter Sends, Store Transactions, and Video Encodes are measured as monthly quotas. Since the billing cycle isn’t over yet, we use the information we have to project what your end-of-month total will be. This is just an estimate, and we revise it every few hours automatically.

Included is the amount of that resource included in your current plan.

Proj. Overage stands for Projected Overage and is the amount by which we project that you will exceed your included quota. This number is calculated by taking the Projected value and subtracting the Included amount. If less than zero, we display nothing. There is no credit for unused resources from your plan.

The usage snapshot is updated continuously for newsletter sends and video encodes, and every few hours for data transfer, diskspace, store transactions, and users. If you add users or experience a burst of store transactions, it may take a few hours before the usage page is updated.

Diskspace and Users are billed based on the monthly “high-water” mark, so deleting files or users will not result in an immediate decrease of the displayed usage for these resources. You will see a reduction in usage for your next billing cycle.

By default this tab shows the current billing cycle. You may view usage from a previous billing cycle by selecting it from the dropdown menu at the top right of the Usage Snapshot table.

Invoices Tab

The Invoices subtab displays all invoices that were issued for your account, newest first. You may click on an invoice number to view the invoice. Vae issues a separate invoice for every billing cycle period for each website, even if you prepay your account in advance. Vae will apply advance payments to invoices automatically

Caution

If you have multiple websites linked on the same account, information on this screen will reflect the overall account, which includes all websites. A list of included websites will be displayed on the right side of the screen.

Vae does not provide paper or fax invoices. We do, however, email invoices to the billing contact on file on your account.

Activity Tab

The activity subtab displays all accounting activity on your account, including invoices and payments, newest first. You may click on an invoice number to view the invoice.

In the Amount column, negative numbers are amounts we’ve billed you, and positive numbers are amounts you’ve paid. A positive balance means you’ve prepaid (or overpaid), and a negative balance means you owe us money.

We only settle accounts every 30 days. If you have a negative balance, and have made a payment within the last 30 days, don’t worry, your account is current. We will automatically charge you when the time comes.

Caution

If you have multiple websites linked on the same account, information on this screen will reflect the overall account, which includes all websites. A list of included websites will be displayed on the right side of the screen.

Billing Tab

The Billing subtab allows you to view or change the current billing contact, as well as credit card on file for your account.

Changing Your Billing Contact

To change your billing contact, click the Change Billing Contact link at the top right corner of the Billing Contact box. This will link to a page with a box titled Update Billing Contact. Update all the fields and click the Save Billing Contact button to complete the process of updating the billing contact.

Please don’t use an E-Mail address hosted on Vae for your Billing Contact. In the rare event of a Vae downtime, we need to be able to contact you through alternate means.

Changing Credit Card on File

To change your credit card on file, click the Change Credit Card on File link at the top right corner of the Credit Card box. This will link to an external page at https://vae.vaesite.com/:

Enter your information into the box labeled Enter Credit Card Information and click the Change My Payment Information button to complete the process of updating your credit card on file.

Caution

To protect us from fraud, we manually approve credit card changes. So, changes won’t show up immediately on the Billing tab. Changes will typically reflect within 1 business day.